Greetings

19 Apr

This has been a monumental week for Horns Across America! I recently had the honor of being Freshly Pressed, and the blog has gotten a lot of buzz since then. So first of all I’d like to say a big thank you to the WordPress team for taking notice of my blog, and welcome to all of my new followers! It has been such a pleasure reading all of your comments and connecting with you over music. If you have any questions for me about classical music, symphony orchestra culture, horn playing, etc, please don’t hesitate to ask! I love getting new ideas for writing.

I’ve got some new stuff coming your way – stay tuned!

In the meantime, here’s a great recording of a piece I will be performing this weekend: Elgar’s Concert-Overture “In the South: Alassio.” 

I swear this is secretly a lost Strauss tone poem. I don’t know why this piece isn’t performed more often. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Greetings”

  1. bella622 04/19/2013 at 11:50 pm #

    Reblogged this on The Voices of Women Veteran's and commented:
    I love Classical Music..,Bravo!

  2. dirigent82 05/07/2013 at 11:30 pm #

    I just happened by your blog – some very interesting stories and posts! I’m a conductor and horn player, so I find your posts quite interesting. I conducted Elgar’s In the South a couple seasons ago. I didn’t know the piece before, but once I heard it, I was hooked and had to program it! You are very correct that it sounds like a long-lost Strauss tone poem. It’s a wild ride from start to finish, but definitely worth the effort!

    • Jessica 05/08/2013 at 2:57 pm #

      So glad you found my blog and enjoy it! I am a horn player and aspiring conductor myself. Maybe we will cross paths someday!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers

