Archive | 5:37 am

A Quick Update from Evanston

17 Jan

Hello everyone!

I have completed the first part of my journey for the Horns Across America project!  This weekend I drove from Cincinnati to Chicago for the first installment of the project.  I was fortunate enough to hear the CSO perform twice and I also had a lesson with Dale Clevenger, the principal horn in the orchestra.  I was in contact with David Griffin, the fourth horn, but unfortunately we were unable to schedule a lesson.

Here’s a quick preview of what’s coming up for the blog:

  • A brief history of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
  • An introduction of Dale Clevenger and some information on his career as a horn player.
  • Stories about my adventures in Chicago and a summary of the information I gathered from my lesson with Mr. Clevenger.
  • Some background information on Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6

Good stuff on the way!  Stay tuned!

– Jessie